ACM Logo SIGSOFT Logo The ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering provides a forum for computing professionals from industry, government and academia to examine principles, practices, and new research results in software engineering.

Mission Statement

The ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering seeks to improve our ability to engineer software by stimulating interaction among practitioners, researchers, and educators; by fostering the professional development of software engineers; and by representing software engineers to professional, legal, and political entities.


SIGSOFT sponsors some very popular events in the area of Software Engineering. An up to date list of those events can be found here. Consult the ACM Calendar of Events for more information about dates and deadlines. More information for event organizers that are interested in cooperating with SIGSOFT can be found here.

Upcoming FSE, ESEC and ICSE Conferences

Plan to participate in these conferences. FSE is SIGSOFT's Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering, ESEC is the European Software Engineering Conference, and ICSE is the International Conference on Software Engineering.

ESEC / FSE 2015

ESEC/FSE 2015 will be held August 31 - September 4, 2015 in Bergamo, Italy.

ICSE 2015

ICSE 2015 will be held May 16 - 24, 2015 in Firenze, Italy.

ICSE 2016

ICSE 2016 will be held May 14 through 22, 2016 in Austin, Texas.

ICSE 2017

ICSE 2017 will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, dates TBD.




Congratulations to these recipients of the SIGSOFT 2014 awards:

  • Lee Osterweil: Distinguished Service
  • Alexander Wolf: Outstanding Research
  • Mary Lou Soffa: Influential Educator
  • Barbara Kitchenham, Tore Dybå and Magne Jørgensen: Impact Paper
  • Thomas Zimmerman, Peter Weisgerber, Stephan Diehl and Andreas Zeller: ICSE Most Influential Paper
  • Nicholas Mangano: Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

ACM Anti-Harassment Policy

Please review ACM's Anti-Harassment Policy.

ACM Publication Policy

Please see this presentation on ACM's new publication policy.

Check out SIGSOFT on