ACM Logo SIGSOFT Logo The ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering provides a forum for computing professionals from industry, government and academia to examine principles, practices, and new research results in software engineering.

ACM SIGBED/SIGSOFT Frank Anger Memorial Award


In honor of our late colleague and friend, Dr. Frank Anger, the ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering has joined together with the ACM Special Interest Group on Embedded Systems to present the Frank Anger Memorial Award. Dr. Frank Anger, an outstanding national leader in the field of software engineering, died in a tragic automobile accident on July 8, 2004. One of Frank's primary goals was supporting the crossover of ideas between research communities engaged in software. As an outstanding scientist and recognized national leader in computer science, he worked toward this goal until his untimely death.

In the spirit of Frank's work and legacy, the Executive Committees of SIGBED and SIGSOFT, with support from the US National Science Foundation, have established a student travel award in his name. The award provides stipends for two students, one named by each SIG, to attend the flagship conference of the other SIG. The award is meant to improve the mutual awareness of the two research communities to the opportunities and challenges emerging in complimentary research areas.

The Award

A student member of SIGSOFT will be provided a stipend of up to $2000 to cover travel expenses to attend a flagship conference of SIGBED, and a student member of SIGBED will be provided a stipend of up to $2000 to cover travel expenses to attend a flagship conference of SIGSOFT.

Important Dates

Starting with awards given out in 2014, SIGSOFT will adopt the same nomination deadline for the Frank Anger Award as for its other annual awards. This means that the next round of nominations for this award will be solicited by December 15, 2013, for which recipients will be announced in January 2014.

Detailed Information

Full information on the application procedure and rules of the contest are given in the following pages:

This award is a unique opportunity to help promote cross-disciplinary research. All eligible applicants are encouraged to apply.

Past Recipients

       SIGSOFT Recipients      SIGBED Recipients
2014 No award given  
2013 Reinhard Schneider (TU Munich)  
2012   Indranil Saha (University of California at Los Angeles)
2011 Aldeida Aleti (Swinburne University of Technology) Miroslav Pajic (University of Pennsylvania)
2008 Basil Becker (University of Potsdam)
2007 Stefan Henkler (University of Paderborn)
Chunyang Ye (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Cesar Sanchez (Stanford University)
Bernhard Egger (Seoul National University)