ACM Logo SIGSOFT Logo The ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering provides a forum for computing professionals from industry, government and academia to examine principles, practices, and new research results in software engineering.

ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Service Award

This annual award is presented to an individual who has contributed dedicated and important service to the software engineering community.

Recipients receive a plaque engraved with their name and signed by the chair of SIGSOFT along with a $1000 honorarium. The award is presented by the SIGSOFT chair at ICSE during ICSE's award presentation session. The award recipient also receives support for travel to ICSE up to $2500 within their home continent and up to $3000 outside their home continent, including airfare, hotel, and conference registration for ICSE.

The selection committee is appointed by the SIGSOFT chair and consists of a combination of recent recipients of the award and current SIGSOFT executive committee members. The committee solicits nominations from the software engineering community in a variety of ways including announcements in SIGSOFT's newsletter, Software Engineering Notes, and postings on appropriate newsgroups and websites. The committee considers all external nominations, plus any internal nominations from members of the committee, in the context of the nominees' specific and general service contributions to the overall software engineering community.

To submit a nomination for the award, please use the awards nomination portal. Nominations are due no later than December 15 of each year.

The following individuals are the previous winners of the award:

2015 Bashar Nuseibeh
2014 Leon Osterweil
2013 Wilhelm Schäfer
2012 Alexander Wolf
2011 Jeff Kramer
2010 Mary Lou Soffa
2009 Stuart Zweben
2008 John C. Knight
2007 David Notkin
2006 Carlo Ghezzi
2005 Richard N. Taylor
2004 Will Tracz
2003 Axel van Lamsweerde
2002 Lori Clarke
2001 Kouichi Kishida
2000 Marvin Zelkowitz
1999 Bill Riddle
1998 Bruce Barnes
1997 Peter Neumann
1996 Rick Adrion
1995 Tony Wasserman