Early Career Researcher Award

This award is presented to an individual or individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the area of software engineering as an early career investigator.

To be eligible for nomination for the award, individuals' most recent computer-related educational degree (baccalaureate, masters, or doctoral degree) must have been awarded no more than seven years prior to the date of nomination.

The award recipient receives a $1000 honorarium and a plaque engraved with their name and signed by the chair of SIGSOFT. The award is announced by the SIGSOFT chair at ICSE during ICSE's award presentation session. Each award recipient also receives travel support up to $2500 within their home continent and up to $3000 outside their home continent, including airfare, hotel, and conference registration to attend ICSE.

The award committee will consist of a chair and a minimum of four members. The Committee Chair will be a senior researcher in the SIGSOFT research community appointed by the SIGSOFT Executive Committee. The Committee Chair will propose committee members to the SIGSOFT Executive Committee for approval. The committee will review the nomination package and associated endorsements and rank the nominees by number and significance of their contributions to the software engineering community. The committee shall also have the option to decline to make an award in a given year, if no suitable nominations are presented.

Nominations must be submitted by completing the nomination form on the SIGSOFT Awards Nomination Portal. Nominations describe the nominee's contributions and their impact on the software engineering community. Letters of Endorsement (minimum of 2) must also be submitted on the SIGSOFT Awards Nomination Portal. Nominations are due no later than December 15 of each year.

If you have questions about this award, please contact sigsoft-early-career-award (at) acm (dot) org.


2021Lingming Zhang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, for outstanding contributions to mutation testing, regression testing, fault localization, and program repair
2020Claire Le Goues
2019Jeff Huang
2018Gabriele Bavota
2017Christian Bird



  • Antonio Carzaniga (chair)
  • Myra Cohen
  • James Noble
  • Paolo Tonella