ACM Logo SIGSOFT Logo The ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering provides a forum for computing professionals from industry, government and academia to examine principles, practices, and new research results in software engineering.

ACM SIGSOFT Outstanding Research Award

This award is presented to an individual or individuals who have made significant and lasting research contributions to the theory or practice of software engineering.

The award recipients share a $1000 honorarium, and each recipient receives a plaque engraved with their name and signed by the chair of SIGSOFT. The award is announced by the SIGSOFT chair at ICSE during ICSE's award presentation session. The award recipients are invited to give a keynote presentation at the SIGSOFT FSE conference in the year in which the award is made. Each award recipient also receives travel support up to $2500 within their home continent and up to $3000 outside their home continent, including airfare, hotel, and conference registration to attend the agreed-upon conference.

The selection committee is appointed by the SIGSOFT chair and consists of a combination of recent recipients of the award and current SIGSOFT executive committee members. The committee solicits nominations from the software engineering community in a variety of ways including announcements in SIGSOFT's newsletter, Software Engineering Notes, and postings on appropriate newsgroups and websites. The committee considers all external nominations, plus any internal nominations from members of the committee, in the context of the nominees' research contributions to software engineering.

To submit a nomination for the award, please use the awards nomination portal. Nominations are due no later than December 15 of each year.

The following individuals are the previous winners:

2015 Carlo Ghezzi
2014 Alexander Wolf
2013 David Notkin
2012 Lori Clarke
2011 David Garlan and Mary Shaw
2010 Erich Gamma, Richard Helm, Ralph Johnson and John Vlissides (posthumously)
2009 Richard N. Taylor
2008 Axel van Lamsweerde
2007 Elaine J. Weyuker
2006 David Harel
2005 Jeff Kramer and Jeff Magee
2004 Nancy Leveson
2003 Leon J. Osterweil
2002 Gerard Holzmann
2001 Michael Jackson
2000 Victor Basili
1999 Harlan Mills (one-time posthumous)
1999 Niklaus Wirth
1998 David Parnas
1997 Barry Boehm