Call For Papers: Research Tool Demonstrations Track


The FSE 2012 Research Tool Demonstration track provides a forum for conference participants to use presentations, live demonstrations, and posters to learn about research tools from the software engineering community. Tool demonstrations are expected to present implementation of tools for novel and innovative software engineering approaches, algorithms, techniques, methods, and processes. Any of the FSE 2012 topics of interest are appropriate areas for research demonstrations.

Review and evaluation criteria

Each submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the research demonstrations program committee. The committee will review each submission to assess the relevance and quality of the proposed demonstration in terms of originality, soundness, and presentation quality. Submissions should describe their relevance to software maintenance, discuss the level of maturity of the tool, and reference the technical foundations upon which they are based (typically, through appropriate references to previously published work).


Tool demonstration papers must be submitted electronically via EasyChair and conform to the FSE 2012 Format and Submission Guidelines. Submissions should consist of a single document with two to three parts:

Optionally, authors may attach up to four (4) additional pages of screen dumps, well-captioned, to illustrate the planned demo. Additionally, the following conditions must be fulfilled:

In case the tool is not available for downloading the chairs might ask for a video of maximum 5 minutes of the tool being used following the scenario described in the paper.


Besides the paper, the authors of accepted formal demonstrations will be expected to deliver formal presentations (with live demo of the tool) and participate in open session for informal tool demos.

Important Dates

Program Committee

Mark Grechanik, Accenture Technology Labs, San Jose and
     University of Illinois, Chicago, USA, Research Tool Demonstrations Track Chair
James Clause, University of Delaware
James R. Cordy, Queen's University
Massimiliano Di Penta, University of Sannio - Benevento
Chen Fu, Accenture Technology Lab
Tibor Gyimothy, University of Szeged
William G.J. Halfond, University of Southern California
Ahmed E. Hassan, Queen's University
Miryung Kim, University of Texas at Austin
Steven Lauterburg, Salisbury University
Collin Mcmillan, College of William and Mary
Mauro Pezzé, University of Lugano and the University of Milano Bicocca
Lori Pollock, University of Delaware
Adam Porter, University of Maryland at College Park
Denys Poshyvanyk, College of William and Mary
Brian Robinson, ABB Research
Yannis Smaragdakis, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Eli Tilevich, Virginia Tech
Eric Wohlstadter, University of British Columbia
Michal Young, University of Oregon
Xiangyu Zhang, Purdue University

ACM logo SIGSOFT logo